5th Annual AMVCA: 2017

5th Annual AMVCA: 2017


amvca, nigerian awards

The 2017 Africa Magic Viewer’s Choice Awards (AMVCA) took place on the 4th of March, 2017 at the prestigious Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos, Nigeria. It was the fifth edition and was as organized and packed out as usual. It was attended by guests from all around the world.

The highest winning movie was Izu Ojukwu’s ’76 with five awards; Best overall movie, Best Director, Best actress, Best art director and Best costume design.

Here is the full list of winners from the award ceremony:

  • Best Make-up Artist (Movie/TV Series)- Hakeem Onilogbo Ajibola and Perekeme Odon for the movie Oloibiri

  • Best Costume Design- Pat Egwurube for the movie ’76

  • Best Art Director- Pat Nebo for the movie ‘76

  • Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV Series)- Guy Steer for the movie Vaya

  • Best Picture Editor (Movie/TV Series)- Nnodim Chigozie and Paula Peterson for the movie Oloibiri

  • Best Lighting Designer (Movie/TV Series)- Elliot Sewape for the movie 93 Days

  • Best Cinematographer- Lance Gewer for the movie Happiness is a Four Letter Word

  • Best Short Film or Online Video-  Ogo Okpue for the movie  Cat Face

  • Best Documentary- Uga Carlini for Alison

  • Best Actress in a Comedy (Mnet Original Series)- Deborah Anungwa for the series Hustle

  • Best Actor  in a Comedy (Mnet Original Series)- Samuel Ajibola for the series Johnsons

  • Best Actress in a Drama (Mnet Original Series)- Meg Otanwa for the series Hush

  • Best Actor in a Drama (Mnet Original Series)- David Jones David for the series Hotel Majestic

  • Mnet Original Best Comedy Series- The Johnsons

  • Mnet Original Best Drama Series- Tinsel

  • Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Swahili)- Zilizala

  • Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Hausa)- Tijjani Shehu Yahaya  Yaki Da Zuciya

  • Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Yoruba)- Jumoke Odetola and Abiodun Jimoh for the movie Somewhere in the Dark 

  • Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Igbo)- Crey Ahanonu for the movie Amonye Bu Onye

  • Best Soundtrack/Original Score- Michael Truth Ogunlade – The Encounter

Cast and crew of Jenifa’s Diary receiving an award
  • Best TV Series– Funke Akindele for the series Jenifa’s Diary

  • Best Writer(s) in a Movie or TV Series- Craig Freimond, Tshabalira Lebakeng, Anthony Mafela, David Majoka, Madoda Ntuli, Harriet Perlman and Robbie Thorpe for the movie Vaya

  • Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Movie or TV Series- Ebele Okaro Onyuike for the movie Four One Love

  • Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Movie or TV Series- Rotimi Salami for the movie Just Not Married

  • Best Actress in a Comedy Movie or TV Series- Funke Akindele for the series  Jenifa’s Diary

  • Best Actor in a Comedy Movie or TV Series- Imeh Bishop Umoh for the movie The Boss Is Mine

  • Best Movie (East Africa)- Sarika Hemi Lakhani for the movie Kati Kati

  • Best Movie (West Africa)- Rogers Ofime for the movie Oloibiri

  • Best Movie (Southern Africa)- Elvis Chuks  for the movie All About Love 

  • Best Actress in a Drama Movie or TV Series- Rita Dominic for the movie ’76

  • Best Actor in a Drama Movie or TV Series- Sambasa Nzeribe for the movie Slow Country

  • Best Director- Izu Ojukwu for the movie ’76

  • Best Overall Movie- Adonijah Owiriwa and Izu Ojukwu for the movie ’76 

  • AMVCA Trailblazer Award- Somkele Iyamah-Idhalama

Somkele receiving the trail blazer award at the AMVCA, 2017
  • AMVCA Industry Merit Award- Chika ‘Zebrudaya’ Okpala

    Chief Chika Okpala ‘Zebrudaya’ on the red carpet