Chelsea Wins Premier League Title

Chelsea Wins Premier League Title


Chelsea have won the 2016-17 Premier League title following a hard-fought 1-0 victory over West Bromwich Albion at The Hawthorns.

Monday night’s win over Middlesbrough left Antonio Conte’s side just one win away from the sixth top-flight crown in their history, and it took until the 82nd minute for them to get the all-important goal as Michy Batshuayi became Chelsea’s unlikely hero.
That was enough to fire them to their second Premier League title in the space of three years, giving them an unassailable 10-point lead over closest challengers Tottenham Hotspur…

Antonio Conte’s transformation of Chelsea from fallen champions to Premier League title winners inside 12 months was completed with victory at West Bromwich Albion – a remarkable success story in his first season at Stamford Bridge.

The 47-year-old inherited a squad that had declined from domestic superpower to mid-table mediocrity amid acrimony and the sacking of title-winning manager Jose Mourinho. But he has shown the personality, tactical brilliance and sure touch to put them back at the top of the English game with John Terry becoming the first non-Manchester United player to win the premier league trophy five times.